top of page

she has a daughter, golden by Beatrice Irwin




Sappho told me I could be this happy, but I couldn’t understand her.

you see, the fragment was untranslatable and incomplete—


the scholars I ran to shrugged their demure cardigan shoulders and plus,

I was already late to the 6:30 bus,

and left my earl grey tea at home,


I had accidentally set my joy on my childhood swings and

forgot to pick it back up,


I spilled ink on my brand new 

womanhood and

left the paperwork bookmarked in Sister Outsider.


I didn’t realize the world was opening its petals for me, gentle as the cool mist.

I was too busy feeling guilty for the love that I felt weeping out of

me, like the willows frozen beyond her window. She penned golden-wheat sunlight there,

and I feel the teenage girl secret of our broad hearts beating every second. 


But see, I have found her letter to me 


(it was underneath my pillow,

sleeping as gentle as a rose, and I laughed when I found it, because

of course 

it was under my pillow)


 



Beatrice Irwin is first and foremost a lesbian and secondly a screenwriter, professional opinion-haver, and poem lover. She says that hell is not a teenage girl and lives in Baltimore, going to an arts high school for literary arts. Bea spends her free time putting on lip gloss and rooting for other girls; find her on Instagram @notsaintbeatrice or Twitter @notstbeatrice.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page