top of page

On Fallout 3 and Wishing the World Would End Already by Cass Francis



I don’t want a world without cathedrals, stained glass on winter mornings—colors are crisper when the air is cold. I’m lucky to have fought beside beings built of computer code, to have been compelled to choose what shape best captures my soul. Many never receive such control of the universe. Still, I have prayed in battletorn armor for a world less lost, cursed God for trapping me between love and wisdom, camaraderie and calls to duty, the way my mind shatters mirrors and how I garble words, cringing at every cry of truth. Will we ever win this war against our own destruction? I still play the game. I am bored, the world is burning, and there’s little else to do but play and fight, careening through characters, controllers, and consoles.

 



Cass Francis is from Waxahachie, Texas and is a graduate of the Arkansas Writers MFA Program. In the fall, she will attend Texas Tech University to pursue a PhD in Media and Communication. Her poetry and prose appears or is forthcoming in The Ginger Collect, EcoTheo Review, and elsewhere. Find her on Twitter @WriterCFrancis.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page