top of page

No Riches & No Gold, just Love by Jam Bridgett



I skipped a rock and watched it hop. I threw a line and caught a bucket full of fish. I collected so many seashells I can no longer see sand. But I have no riches so what can I do? I climbed a tree and watched the whole world turn. I made friends with the deer and all the bears. I sang soft songs with the grass, But I have no riches so where can I go? I swam for miles until my body turned to water too. I made bubbles and funny faces with the fish. I knew Ariel before she was Disney, But I have no riches so who I am really? I peeled oranges for hungry children. I fought off men with even hungrier wallets for the sake of our trees. I stood in the way of bullets during war, But that has made me no riches so when will I be counted? I loved with my whole being. I gave until my body ached for moisture. I lived and saw and moved and made a life out of my own stories, But love is not equivalent to riches so how can I be anything but penniless? I mothered a thousand generations And I breastfed the land. I am one with creation, But unless there is money to be made, what is my worth?




 





Jam Bridgett is a queer artist, writer and student living in Toronto. Their work focuses on gender, love and revolution. They are currently writing a very queer, very messy YA novel. Jam’s work can be found in publications like Tongue Tied Magazine, UC Gargoyle @ the University of Toronto and the Black Cabinet Magazine @ York University. Find them on Instagram @artbyjam_ or Twitter @yikesjamaica



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page