top of page

From Point to Point by Jam Bridgett



I’d like to move Change Transition Flow Become But there is no end destination in sight. A wide circle simply encompasses what is. And we can never know what may come of such a vast, open space. On one point of the circle, I stand With my hair in my hands And a frown on my face. On another, I stand Clean shaven and free. There are no selves in between these two me’s, only space. From one spot I am. From another, I was. I look at myself through stained glass windows, All colourful and holy. I blinked and became anew, I smiled and became another person. In all my changing skin, In every stage of my metamorphosis It is I who sees me clearest, Even with my eyes shut. My soul dances to a different tune, I speak of myself in a whole new language But to you I am the same. A melodramatic little kid who doesn’t know where I’m going. A walking ball of confusion. A winter storm of ice and snow and bitter cold winds. As I shift and spin I step into myself I close the gap between was and am. Maybe one day, like a chameleon, I will find the perfect spot and never have to change colours again. Safe finally Warm and held closely to the sun.




 

Jam Bridgett (they/she) is a queer student, visual artist and writer of Afro-Jamaican descent in Toronto. They are interested in diaspora, gender, and human connection to the Earth. Their work can be found in Ascend Magazine, Tongue Tied Magazine and Rose Quartz Magazine. Follow them on Instagram @artbyjam_ or Twitter @yikesjamaica

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page