top of page

Curfewed nights by Manpreet Kaur




The flowers bloom amidst the guns roaring, The child out there struggles to sleep. I dream of a peaceful land with people living under the blue coloured sky. The night has fallen on this land of black souls, Won’t there be anyone making it colourful again? I dream of my home, sitting in Delhi. The book my friend gave me has letters of loved one’s gone. Love-heals the soul, they say. But will it heal the conflicted minds of a conflicted zone? I walk amidst the crowd here, with that little girl blabbing out the unsaid words. Happiness sleeps in my memory every night, sitting on an olive couch. They still live under the curfewed nights, they told me on phone. My land, Kashmir, lives a life- dreadful and unknown




 



Manpreet Kaur is a literature student from India. Belonging to one of the conflicted zones of the world, Kashmir, the words help her express. She finds writing to be a therapy . She loves music and spends most of her time with books. The world of laziness is where she loves to be and writes when nature speaks to her. With the hope of changing the world for peace, she writes about love and war

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page