top of page

All Wrong by Jam Bridgett




What words can I say to say

There is no such thing as a safe space when the world wants you dead?

Forced into corners,

Forced into silence.


In such a hungry, cruel world there are but two options:

1. Target

2. Ghost


I choose option 2

Again and again.


There is quiet,

Solitude

In being alone in my knowing.


A disturbing sad peace in not being seen.

You can love me perfectly well as long as you don’t see me like you see them.

All wrong

All wrong and dirty

All dirty and sinful.


You pretend your conditional love is good enough,

But wish death on us and there is no love in cruelty.

You sentence us to fire and brimstone

Like your god doesn’t hear your words against his children as blasphemy.


I am not who you think I am,

And I hope I make you sick.

Hope I make your stomach turn,

You skin crawl,

Your eyes roll to the back of your head

When you realize, we really are everywhere.



 

Jam Bridgett (they/she) is a queer student, visual artist and writer of Afro-Jamaican descent in Toronto. They are interested in diaspora, gender, race, sexuality and human connection to the Earth. Their work can be found in Ascend Magazine, Tongue Tied Magazine and Rose Quartz Magazine. Jam is currently writing their first novel. Find them on Instagram or Twitter @yikesjamaica 

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page