top of page

3 poems by Keana Labra



Wishful Thinking


All of time occurs at once, the misperception of linear cause-and-effect,  here-to-there me-to-you


the past is present the bags beneath my eyes proof that you exist outside of this false perception here-to-there me-to-you



the bags beneath my eyes carved now into my skull all of time occurs at once: you are loving me, leaving me, gone



here-to-there.



 

Hushed


“Soft-spoken”, as an insult used to slap sense into my cheeks (in one ear and out the other, my gaze tracing the clouds) eyes without accuracy leave yours out of reach: “there is no pride in quiet”. Screaming does nothing for me I’ve enough of the voices in my head “soft-spoken” as others trample the few utterances before  they’re lodged into my throat “soft-spoken” before I’m no longer heard

until I’m no longer seen.




 

Being


i. this is not us there you are, in my arms eyes open, and you are not. pages turn, chapters fade into each other time no longer holds any meaning.


ii. this is what we used to be cradled in my arms, always in my arms your hair as feathers melting into the bed melting into each other



iii. this is us I look for you in the streets regret keeps my feet planted while my neck cranes above ground searching for the feathers and soft of your eyes.



 

Keana Labra was born and raised in Bay Area, California. Knowing the importance of representation, she would like her work to be evidence that Filipino Americans are also present in the literary and art world. She uses her experiences as reference for her poetry.




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page