top of page

2 poems by Alexandra Lindberg



this queer body is new


this queer body is new

has feet that hang off of the bed

only at night are they allowed to take up the most space

this queer body

has swam through tiny streams

while still being valid

embracing queerness is not always through a great wave

sometimes they are treading water

the only ones whose muscles ache after swim practice the same way the heart

palpitates after being misgendered

/ by your own family

/ who claims to love and support you no matter how high the tide is

/ by your coworkers because you haven’t found the strength within yourself to come out to them yet

/ they wouldn’t understand / I am afraid of coming out the same way I am afraid of walking alone at night

it is always so much work, for a want to be

recognized as queer

while still this cis exterior is the leading role

this queer body reclaims the man spread

has nails that break at a length that is perfect

has a stomach full of blood and diner coffee

has to relearn what a vegetable is

but also relearn a new identity

while still wanting to keep our childhood alive

understand that we can’t ignore the forever

doorbell that is fluidity

some days, this body feels all sunshine and daisies

waits for her lover after a long day and kisses him hello

skips through breezy prairies while

crushing white peaches between ringed fingers

the peaches are a fragile patriarchy

succumbing to a built up pressure

other days it is all black with a

matching vengeance

dragging this heavy spikeball and chain

my visible house arrest is a dysphoria

that everyone wants to touch but never take home

when will this body cease to be a public spectacle

one that can wait outside and not be barked at

but rather bloom on the first of every month

and shed a new skin in the spring




 

September


it is September

and everything is coming back

my birth and

many small deaths are

simultaneously eating me alive.

i don’t know which one to trust



i am grateful for my shortcomings

and wrong steps / and backpedals

they have all taught me something;

that i almost was one

i am grateful to not have been

my mother’s sixth abortion

or second child given up for adoption

not that either of those are improper

but it is September and

i am meant to be here

somehow supposed to feel every

notch and vault of forgotten youth

forgotten blows

come back at the sight of worn leather wallets

every man i know has a worn leather wallet

every time i do not use concealer

i see bruises as if they have never faded

does my father see my porcelain portrait in the reflection of his tears?

the child who knew that tearing away the bark

from a tree will not make it grow faster



i am okay with being slow in my progress

it is september and i am confronting turmoils

with a gentle knock and whisper

they will be loud if i go in screaming

they know i am afraid

it is september and i am grateful to be able to touch and expand

my aura to its greatest capacity

behind tired lashes and weights for fingertips

i stretch my arms above my head with closed eyes and my mother tells me

that i am okay

my bed a chrysalis

my body a home with no broken windows  



is something really yours if you never take care of it?

this month

I am halfway healing myself towards

the version I always wanted to be

climbs down from the tree house and steps into

a book with blank pages

writes their own story,

hopefully, there are mother’s there too




 



Alexandra Lindberg is a 21 year old libra who lives in Boise, ID. They primarily write about newfound fluidity and heartbreak. You may find them in every coffee shop at once, or in the field of a park on a warm summer’s day. They have competed in poetry slam since February 2017 locally, regionally, and nationally.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page