top of page

2 poems by Addison Post




catastrophic I spiraled earlier because I spilled water on my sheets just after I changed them and I had a long night Of reading in bed planned out And now it’s ruined and I’ll never be able to read and then I’ll never be able to write and then I’ll never be able to publish and then I’ll never be able to not work in retail. And then I sat in my bed and cried Which only made my sheets more wet. And wasted away playing two dots Until I had to leave for my shift Home Depot And I just realized that’s what catastrophizing is And I wish I had another session with that therapist. I almost can’t believe there’s an entire industry Based around someone with too many degrees Telling kids like me to Snap out of it.

 

righteous I’m not out at home Not for any interesting reason, I’m just worried they’d stop talking to me And I can’t have that, they need me around To help them with the bills and stuff. They just don’t realize it. It’s not that I don’t want you To meet them and it’s not that I don’t think we’re serious Or don’t think it’s time. And I won’t be the bad guy to them.

 

Addison is a writer and activist based out of Pittsburgh. In their free time, Addison likes to experiment with different types of crafts, including yelling, 3d printing, and high performance computing. Professionally, they hike, bike, and fight corruption in your city.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page