top of page

1 poem by Chloe Smith




I'm surprised you're still here -

I thought you wouldn't have even stayed for dinner.


But then you were always one

For the afters, a fan of any and all desserts,


No matter how tiny, or bitter.

I told you we didn’t have any family recipes, but


You marvel at my split skin,

Not cut, or bleeding


Just scarred. The aftereffects of growing -

thin, translucent roots


shooting across my veins,

cracks across the pale crust.


You traced them with your hands

and I shivered at your touch, again.


The stars were dim, and the window open

but it was okay. I had you, your warmth -


‘I'm not a fan of them -’

I said, staring up at the grey ceiling, the empty space,


Anything but your fierce, burning eyes.

‘I don't know why.’


You kept your finger lightly at the crux of my wrist, tasting my pulse -

It wasn’t a question, but it seems as if there was an answer


flitting around the warm air, anyway. I was

just too tired to catch it. ‘I am,’ you said,


lightly, in a quiet breath, as your fingers went walking again.

‘Why?’ You smiled at me, taking pleasure


 in the action, in the flavour of the words sliding up your throat -


‘Loving you

is as easy as pie.’




 

Chloe Smith is a disabled and autistic writer and poet from the UK. She is a Foyle Young Poet of the Year 2015, and her poetry has been published in TERSE. Journal, Rose Quartz Journal, Cauldron Anthology and more. Her flash fiction has been published in Ellipsis Zine, TRAIN, Three Drops From a Cauldron and The Ginger Collect. For more about her writing, please visit her website: https://chloesmithwrites.wordpress.com/. You can also find her on Twitter, @ch1oewrites.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page